Posted by: babbo | March 20, 2008

Keeping Life in Perspective

There’s no question, being a parent is hard. Being a good parent? Even harder.

In an effort to do our best, it’s easy to get caught up in the thick of daily to-do’s, responsibilities and problems (which can linger for weeks, months or even years). This struggle can be overwhelming and even debilitating. Fatigue, frustration and dissatisfaction creep in and suddenly things appear insurmountable — a huge mountain that we’re standing at the bottom of. And our climbing boots don’t fit.

The size of the “mountain,” and our ability to climb it, is directly related to our perception of the mountain. In other words, it’s as big as we think it is. You’ve probably heard the statement, “your perception becomes your reality.” It’s true.

When my perception tips toward the dark side, the Universe (God) has a way of stepping in with a reminder to help me realign.

This week, my reminder came in the form of an article in Esquire Magazine called, “What I’ve Learned: Glenn Fitzpatrick.” Glenn is the father of a 5-year old girl named Maddie. He’s also dying from ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease).

And suddenly I realize, my life isn’t so bad. I’m actually pretty lucky.

Click the link above to read Glenn’s brief, yet moving interview. It really puts things in perspective. He seems to be coping with his illness and imminent death with grace and dignity, and he inspires me to deal with my problems in the same manner (which often feels impossible).

Problems that seemed so large, and feelings that were so strong shift. I’m not saying they’re invalid. They most certainly deserve respect and attention. My issues are just smaller in comparison to Glenn’s — a man whose five year old daughter won’t have a daddy soon. How hard will it be for his wife to carry on? To raise their family? To smile?

At least I’ve got a partner, my lovely wife, to help my family through the peaks and valleys of life. I always say wife rhymes with life for a reason! I thank the Universe for her every day. How much harder must it be for a single parent?

I hope Glenn’s words help you as much as they’ve helped me. If you are a single parent, or if you are sick, my thoughts and prayers go out to you. I’m always here to listen if you need someone to talk to.

Remember, you are not alone…

Add to Technorati Favorites

Top Blog Sites

Blog Flux Directory

Top100 Bloggers - Top Blog Directory - Blog Top list
Blogs


Responses

  1. Wow – that is one of the most touching things I have read in a very long time. I’m here at work and I literally have tears in my eyes.

    That’s an amazing article. It touches me so much because my wife and I are about to have another little girl and we’re going to name her Madeleine.

    I’ve even started a journal for my daughter so she can read it long after I’m gone.

  2. I have read this piece so many times. I love that Glenn’s article touched you in such a way. He passed away just a few months after the article was published. Being a single parent is tough some times but I have to say living without Glenn is tough all the time. How lucky I am to have been married to such a wonderful man!! I hope you still have God’s intervention when times get tough. I know that I do. Thank you for sharing Glenn’s article. He also saw your blog before he died. He was happy his words were able to help someone else.

    • Madeline, thank you so much for reaching out and posting this comment. It is an honor that both you and Glenn read my article. I don’t know quite what to say, except that my heart is very sad for your loss. How are you and Maddie doing? My family and I are working through a tough time right now (I was laid off my job a while back), but Glenn’s words and spirit help keep me strong and focused on what’s most important – my family.

      Peace, positive energy and healing to you and Maddie.

      Joey
      daddybrain@live.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

